CFI Components

The various components of the CFI were designed to be used in a particular sequence as part of a multi-year process of congregational formation. The titles of each of the components reflect this by alluding to the various stages involved in learning to swim.

  1. “Getting Your Feet Wet” Series
  2. “Going Deeper” Series
  3. “Taking the Plunge” (Retreat)
  4. “Basic Strokes” Series
  5. “Assessing Our Strokes” (Discernment)

Congregations or study groups who plan to move through most of the CFI process as outlined above would do well to begin with the “Getting Your Feet Wet” series. Those groups looking to engage (at least at first) at a somewhat less intense level could also begin with one of the more conventional book studies in the “Going Deeper” series.